Interview with Susan Davis, content editor for “Huntin'”

Untitled

 

N&R: Hi Susan! Thank you for doing such a great job helping me to get this story up and running! I wanted to ask you a couple of questions concerning editing.

How did you get started in the editing world?

SD:My start was editing for members in a couple of my critique groups. I loved it…and there was one who believed in pointing out the strengths as well as the weak areas in the story. It was exactly what encouraged and motivated me to write.

It turns out to be what I love to do for the authors I work with at Muse It Up Publishing.
N&R: Was this a long time interest?

SD: English and composition has been a long time interest of mine, since high school years. It was my favorite subject and I wrote a number of books/stories during those very early years.

N&R:  Do you also write? If so what have you written?

SD: I’ve written a couple young adult novels (haven’t published any), and under a pseudonym I have a number of erotic romance novels, novellas, and short stories published through Muse It HOT an imprint of Muse It Up Publishing.

N&R:  What is the difference between content editing and line editing?

SD: Commas *LOL* Just kidding – content editing focuses on point of view discrepancies, subject matter making sense to the plot and the characters, validating facts and locations if necessary – actions and dialogue/style/voice staying in agreement/alignment with characters.

Line editing is a very important second set of eyes, checking for grammatical errors, spelling, and punctuation. In other words, they’ll polish it all to a gorgeous shiny finish: )

N&R:  What kind of advice would you give a newbie editor?

SD: Make sure to point out an author’s story strengths as well as the weak areas. It is hard work writing a story and in essence can be like baring a soul…sometimes it doesn’t take much to crush a writer’s spirit. Be an editor easy to work with by explaining your suggested changes, and also be the editor that you’d like to have editing your work: )

Thank you Susan. Wise words indeed. Once again I appreciate all the work you did on my story. I’m looking forward to working again with you in the future.

Lynne

Leave a Reply

