Remember

 

Remember

Remember me with the dawn’s first light,
Remember me throughout the day.
Remember the songs we used to sing,
And all the things that we’d say.

Remember me every evening,
When your head touches down, soft and low.
Remember the joys and sorrows we shared,
Remember our songs long ago.

For like it or not, I share your life.
I share your hopes and your dreams.
You and I, are part of a song,
You and I share the same theme.

Remember the evenings we cried together,
Remember the mornings we laughed.
Remember the times that we hugged and sang,
Remember the nights that we talked.

As you journey this day, far far away,
Off on a new path and dream.
Remember the ones whom you left behind,
The ones who still whisper your name.

For we are your family, both your friends and your foes,
We are a part of your life.
Always together, though separate in space,
Our hearts will never let go.

So sing out our memory, the songs of our lives,
Sing of the joys we have shared,
Never forget us, the ones left behind.
For we are the hearts of your soul.

© V.L. Murray August 29, 2017

 

2 thoughts on “Remember

Leave a comment